Tribute to the Pittsburgh Passion

 

They say that “all good things must come to an end.”  This is at least true for the 2011 season of the Pittsburgh Passion.  “What is the Pittsburgh Passion?”, you ask?  It’s a women’s full-contact, professional football team, which I have been privileged to be a member of for two seasons. (Check out our team website, http://www.pittsburghpassion.com.)  People ask, so is this like powderpuff or flag football?  NO!!! It’s not.  It’s the real deal.  We wear all the gear, and hard hits are par for the game.  (The multiple baseball-sized bruises all over my arms are proof.)  Our league, the WFA, has 63 teams across the country, with the national championship coming up on July 30th in Dallas, TX.

Time out defensive huddle.

Sadly, we will not be going this year, but the Passion had an amazing season this year.  We finished the regular season with an 8–0 record.  And beyond that, the group of women that came together was incredible.  Not only are they high-caliber athletes, but they are also incredible teammates.  During my two seasons, I’ve played offensive tackle, tight end, and defensive tackle.  Whenever I learned a new position, vets share whatever they know, regardless of the ever-present jockeying for playing time.

Bean, #82, defensive tackle.

Our motto is “teaching life lesson through sport”, and as a teammate who spent a good bit of time on the sideline, I can say that I was pushed more in my mind and character than physically.  I was forced to live what I preach – to work my hardest regardless of recognition; to put the good of team and others before myself; to recognize the importance of every part of a “body”; to compete, but truly believe that success is not always points scored or minutes played.

So to my teammates, coaches, staff, volunteers, and fans:  Thank you for a great season!  It is was an honor to be a part of the Passion family this year.  Here’s to many future national championships, because I know they are coming!

 My biggest fans!

It was great to have my family come watch! Here, my sister Andrea, and her kids.
Posted on June 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nice to hear about the lessons you learned over the season! It was great to watch you and the team!

  1. Pingback: She plays football « Abandoned For Life

Leave a Reply

