Patience

I stood in the doorway of my sister’s dining room looking at construction paper fruit cut-outs.  They are a bit wrinkled and I can tell that small hands have held them many times.  I remembered back to vacation last month with family when my 6- and 4-year old nephews recited unique definitions for the Fruits of the Spirit.  The emphasis on certain words along with hand motions was endearing, but the power of the words coming from their mouths was incredible. Imagine two little boys saying that love is: “Giving to others’ basic needs without having as my motive personal reward.*”

Last night when I looked at those definitions posted on the doorway my eye caught Patience: “Accepting a difficult situation from God without giving Him a deadline to remove it.*”  Wow.  Ouch.  Accepting a difficult situation from God without giving Him a deadline to remove it.”  Oh, how many times have I done that?  How many times today have I directly told God or inferred by my worrying that I need God to act within my time frame?  Lord, forgive me.  I am scared to pray this, but please, teach me how to wait on you.

*These definitions come from Bill Gothard’s Character Qualities. You can find more at http://billgothard.com/teaching/characterqualities.

Posted on October 16, 2011, in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. We were just practicing ‘patience’ this morning. The same ‘ouch’ came to me. ahh…..

Leave a Reply

