Warning!

You should only pray prayers like I wrote in my previous post (“Lord, teach me how to wait on You”) if you really mean it.  I’ve been living the consequences of that prayer this past week.  :) Last Sunday I wrote the post about patience, and less than 12 hours later I saw an answer to prayer that was better than I could have imagined – it included a much-shortened waiting period than I expected. I was so excited!  Wow, God is so amazing.  Less than 24 hours after I thought I was off the hook I got the true test – my perfectly designed world came crashing down in great disappointment, only with the promise of much more waiting to come.

It was soon afterward that I read this quote in One Thousand Gifts by Ann Volskamp:

“You would be very ashamed if you knew what the experiences you call setbacks, upheavals, pointless disturbances, and tedious annoyances really are.  You would realize that your complaints about them are nothing more nor less than blasphemies – though that never occurs to you.  Nothing happens to you except by the will of God, and yet [God’s] beloved children curse it because they do no know it for what it is.”  ~Jean-Pierre Caussade

Wow.  I confess that I have shaken my fist in anger and confusion at events that are most likely divinely orchestrated. Lord, forgive me yet again.  Let my heart praise and not curse.

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That quote is convicting. Wow. It was good to read it again–I had forgotten it from the book.

  2. I really love this quote. How true!

Leave a Reply

