Going Back!

This morning I could hardly move my pen properly across the journal pages to record what I was feeling.  I still feel it: it’s like little kid Christmas excitement, victory after a sweat-filled struggle,  exhilaration of fall air in my lungs.   What’s all the fuss about?  Last night it was confirmed that I am returning to Uganda!

There is so much to do and say, details are yet to be confirmed, but basics are this:  I will be working as an agricultural consultant for Heart for Uganda (www.heartforuganda.org) in Kyenjojo, Uganda.  They recently acquired land and need help to get the land into food production for the multiple ministries they are running (including an AIDS orphan program, medical clinic, church and much more).  I plan to be there about 6 months, after which I hope to start graduate school.

Children in Kyenjojo, Uganda

Part of my excitement comes from the obviously non-coincidental nature of the connection, the match of timing with my availability, and their needs and vision which fit my skills and goals.

This morning I read Psalm 18, one of my favorites.  Verses 16-19 described exactly what I felt: “[The Lord] reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters.  He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me. They confronted me in the day of my disaster, but the LORD was my support. He brought me out into a spacious place.”  I felt exactly like that last phrase: “He brought me out into a spacious place.”  I don’t have words, except: Thank you, Lord. Thank you.

Posted on December 14, 2011, in Agriculture, Heart for Uganda, Uganda. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ahh…Emily, I can’t tell you how this thrills my heart…in so many ways and facets!

  2. Glad you have the chance to serve again! Of course Pittsburgh will miss you, but looking forward to hearing about some new adventures!

  3. I’m so excited for you! God’s timing is always perfect. :-)

Leave a Reply

