Darkness and Glory

I read this last night (from Ann Voskamp’s book One Thousand Gifts). It’s an interesting idea, and maybe it will encourage you like it did me.

Exodus 33:22-23: “When my glory passes by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you with my hand until I have passed by. Then I will remove my hand and you will see my back.”

Ann now speaking in reference to this verse:

“Is that it? When it gets dark, it’s only because God has tucked me in a cleft of the rock and covered me, protected with His hand? In the pitch, I feel like I’m falling, sense the bridge giving way, God long absent.  In the dark, the bridge and my world shakes, cracking dreams.  But maybe this is true reality: It is in the dark that God is passing by. The bridge and our lives shake not because God has abandoned, but the exact opposite: God is passing by.  God is in the tremors.  Dark is the holiest ground, the glory passing by.  In the blackest, God is closest, at work, forging His perfect and right will. Though it is black and we can’t see and our world seems to be free-falling and we feel utterly alone, Christ is most present to us, I–beam supporting in the earthquake.  Then He will remove His hand. Then we will look. Then we look back and see His back.”

[Note: Though I don’t usually follow anything trendy, I do highly recommend Ann’s book.  Yes, it’s popular, but that’s because it’s not fluffy niceness, but thankfulness in the often raw and grueling realities of life. You can also follow her blog with similar ideas at www.aholyexperience.com.]

Posted on August 22, 2013, in Misc. Life, Thoughts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Ahh…so good. So hopeful. I’m grateful for her encouragement to keep my ‘thankful’ list going…just reached 800!

Leave a Reply

